Posts By

Know more about Samvaad 2015 - Pearl Academy

Samvaad-1Samvaad – the annual dialogue witnessed leaders from creative industries along with faculty and management officials from all campuses.

Samvaad brings together Academic and Leadership team, Functional and Area Heads under one roof to have a dialogue on opportunities, industry trends, challenges, path-breaking ideas, recognizing the champions from Pearl and oodles of fun. This year, it was held on 9th – 11th July at Vivanta by Taj at Dwarka, New Delhi, under ‘Think Big, think Beyond’ theme.

In the opening speech, CEO Sharad Mehra shared his vision for Pearl along with some interesting goals in the coming future. Day one experienced plenty of stimulating exercises including walking on broken glass, experience sharing by a senior mountaineer – Satya who narrated his success story motivating everybody in the hall. The evening was concluded with mesmerizing session of live music, some really fun awards and dance on the floor.

Day two and three were loaded with intellectual discussions, industry speakers and panel discussions. Issues such as Key trends in the world of design – designer of tomorrow, Employable skills required for jobs of tomorrow, Building brand in an intellectual space, Transforming design education-trends-pedagogy, Teaching and learning strategies of future and Learner of future were discussed.

Presence of eminent personalities including Navroz Godrej, Nikhil Mehra, M P Ranjan, Madhav Raman, Rajiv Mehta, Sartaj Mehta, Lashvinder Kaur, Abhijeet Basu, Vikas Satvalekar, Satish Gokhale, S Balram, and Narendra Nag among many others raised the bar of Samvaad 2015 further.

Annual Awards night – Pearl Oscars was the most awaited one and it surely did take away all the limelight on Day two. With Red & Black as evening dress code, every pearl member was looking as a star. The evening acknowledged and awarded the best of all categories – Leadership, faculty, staff, teams, schools, Spirit of Pearl and debut. Here are the names of award winners:

  • Best Leadership award: Sunil Gideon, Reena Mehra and Veena Dutta
  • Best School: School of Fashion Styling & Textiles
  • Best Team: Marketing
  • Award for Operational excellence: Saurav De, Kanika Seth, Pallavi P Singh, Sonal Arora, Anita Koshy, Radha Krishnan, Megha Saluja
  • Award for Academic Excellence: Aamir Nayyar, Suhasini Taneja, Shazia Amanat, Sandhya Srinivasan, Bela Gupta, Ramneek Majithia, Vikram Mathur, Taruna Vasu
  • Best Debut Award (Academic): Monika Bijlani
  • Best Debut Award (Non Academic): Varsha Ahir
  • Spirit of Pearl: Chennai campus

The memorable evening was concluded with Drinks and DJ followed by dinner.

Samvaad celebrates the core of Pearl framework – its faculty, by making the event an intellectually stimulating to foster deep thinking, understanding the bigger and wider perspective of design and lastly, how to evolve and become better and better with each passing day.

Share This: